Author Topic: Work advice - Contract asks for 3 months of notice  (Read 4910 times)

Offline pigtwoTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Work advice - Contract asks for 3 months of notice
« on: May 11, 2018, 07:33:05 pm »
Hello all,

I'm in little bit of a tricky situation so I'm looking for some thoughts or opinions about the situation.

The background is I graduated from Uni, got my first job for a small company doing basic EE work and PCB design.  After two years our company got acquired by another EU based company.  At this time we were given new contracts for that company in which there was a stipulation that we must give 3 months of notice before quitting.  People made some complaints and were told by the VP "Either sign the contract or you don't have a job".  I was actually on vacation at the time and signed it as I felt I didn't have a much better option.

It's been a year since then and I'm looking for a new job.  I've spent about a month doing some exploratory job applications and there is a fair number of jobs I'd be interested in.  Fewer that I'm very interested in.  I heard back from a couple.  Both of which said three months was too long of a wait.

I see two options here:
1. Look for another job while continuing to work at my current job.  If I find a job that I want and can't wait 3 months I would just give as much notice as I can. 
2. Demand to renegotiate my contract and remove the 3 month notice stipulation.  If they refuse I can either go with plan 1 from there or give my resignation right then, give the three months and try to find another job.

Misc info:
I have more than a years worth of living expenses saved so that's not a big issue.

The company that made the contract is German and I heard this is standard in Germany because of how difficult it can be to remove employees.