Author Topic: Working as a Chip designer  (Read 4493 times)

Offline PauloConstantinoTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • !
Working as a Chip designer
« on: May 14, 2017, 12:51:27 am »
Hi all,

I am doing a masters degree in microelectronics, and I want to be a chip designer. But I'm a bit confused as to exactly what** I should study that is most important.

Firstly what kind of jobs exist? What kind of people work in the actual foundries? Are they chemists and physicists? Who are the people who actually make the chip, rather than just design them? I think this is the role I'm mostly interested in. I want to be part of the team that actually creates the chip. I love design too, but I want something more fundamental.

Lastly, do the people who do the design, using software, do they have to learn semiconductor physics? Or are they mostly ignorant of it, since all they probably need to know is how to use the design software and follow the rules?

So then, who should learn semiconductor physics? The guys working in the foundries? And who are the guys who design the equipment that builds the chips in the foundries?

Please I appreciate your advice.

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
Re: Working as a Chip designer
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 05:35:11 am »
To start off, I suggest you have a read of this thread....

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/jobs/hardware-design/msg1195852/#msg1195852

Offline hans

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2017, 08:47:27 am »
Lastly, do the people who do the design, using software, do they have to learn semiconductor physics? Or are they mostly ignorant of it, since all they probably need to know is how to use the design software and follow the rules?

So then, who should learn semiconductor physics? The guys working in the foundries? And who are the guys who design the equipment that builds the chips in the foundries?