Author Topic: Writing a small Windows Application (Programming Thread)  (Read 7771 times)

n45048

Writing a small Windows Application (Programming Thread)
« on: March 11, 2015, 07:04:49 am »
I want to write a small Windows application which I can run as a standalone EXE (without installation). Essentially all I need it to do is periodically check a webpage (or multiple sites) for changes and if it's updated, play a WAV file and display a small alert on top of all other windows alerting the user there are changes. The visual alert ideally should be something unobtrusive that just sits in the corner until it's dismissed (rather than a dialog box that pops up and steals focus).

I'm not a programmer at all and the last time I touched Visual Basic was in high school. Any suggestions on some software or language I can use to achieve this? I'm pretty out of touch with software development.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 07:07:11 am by Halon »

Offline andersm

• Super Contributor
Re: Writing a small Windows Application (Programming Thread)
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2015, 08:32:59 am »
I would recommend one of the .NET languages (which includes Visual Basic). It means you do need to have the .NET framework installed, but implementing all the functionality without a rich framework will be a lot of work.

Offline Fred27

• Supporter
    • Fred's blog
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2015, 09:01:59 am »
Grab a free version of Visual Studio (was Express, but now Community Edition for the latest version I think). Great IDE, lots of help about. I'd suggest C# over VB, but either will do.

Offline PA0PBZ

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2015, 11:21:50 am »
There is an extension for Chrome that does exactly that, look for page monitor in the chrome store.
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.

Offline codeboy2k

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2015, 11:50:54 am »