Author Topic: Your pet peeve, technical or otherwise.  (Read 450239 times)

Offline joeqsmith

• Super Contributor
Re: Your pet peeve, technical or otherwise.
« Reply #125 on: September 14, 2020, 10:45:47 am »
Best not to argue with a judge as well. 

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #126 on: September 14, 2020, 05:19:39 pm »

The attorney argues in front of the judge.

The following users thanked this post: Ed.Kloonk

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #127 on: September 14, 2020, 05:23:11 pm »
Here's the worst: Learning curve.

"This program has a steep learning curve!"

Yes, that means it's easy to learn.

"No, I mean that it's hard to learn."

Plot knowledge vs time. If it takes a long time to acquire a particular level of knowledge, the slope of that line will be shallow. If knowledge is acquired in a short time, the slope will go upward sharply.

Offline TimFox

• Super Contributor
  • Retired, now restoring antique test equipment
« Reply #128 on: September 14, 2020, 05:45:39 pm »

The attorney argues in front of the judge.

That’s why it is a bad idea to argue with the judge, lest you be found in contempt.

The following users thanked this post: Ed.Kloonk, vk6zgo

Offline CatalinaWOW

• Super Contributor
« Reply #129 on: September 14, 2020, 05:48:26 pm »

Plot knowledge vs time. If it takes a long time to acquire a particular level of knowledge, the slope of that line will be shallow. If knowledge is acquired in a short time, the slope will go upward sharply.

Quick and easy are different things.

Climb the Burj Dubai on the outside.  You get very high, very quickly.  But it isn't easy.

Climb to the height of the Burj Dubai by walking up the Mississippi River, the Amazon River, or the Nile.  Each step will be easy but you will walk thousands of kilometers before you get the altitude.