Author Topic: Circuit Studio Dead? (again!)  (Read 63653 times)

Offline DubbieTopic starter

• Supporter
Circuit Studio Dead? (again!)
« on: February 24, 2020, 03:23:54 am »
I went to the forums to see if there had been any updates to CircuitStudio before I start another project. It seems it hasn't been updated in years now. Apparently, Peter the Altium representive in the forums got made redundant before christmas. All signs are pointing to an abandoned product. It's a bit sad. It was perfect for me as a hobbyist They keep trying to "upsell" me to full AD. of course I am not going to buy that! I am not a professional.

I am thinking about moving to kicad eventually. although I hate the look of the UI.
Does anyone have any insider info to leak?

Offline dzseki

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Circuit Studio Dead? (again!)
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2020, 06:49:22 am »
I don't know Circuit Studio per se, but your posting hit an interesting pitch.
Personally I can think of many-many programs those older versions of say from even 20 years ago would be still very much usable for non professional usage even today.
So what is actually stopping you to use Circuit Studio further?
HP 1720A scope with HP 1120A probe, EMG 12563 pulse generator, EMG 1257 function generator, EMG 1172B signal generator, MEV TR-1660C bench multimeter

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2020, 08:04:03 am »
Nothing is stopping me right now, but what if I have a license issue in the future and nobody replies to email? I don’t want to get caught out in the middle of a project. Also there are a few very annoying bugs that I constantly face which I wish they would fix. I’d rather be using tools that are still in development. However I am not in any rush to switch, it’s just something I will keep in mind moving forward.

The following users thanked this post: Someone

Offline dzseki

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2020, 11:54:15 am »