Author Topic: Circuit Studio Dead? (again!)  (Read 63453 times)

Offline jmarkwolf

• Regular Contributor
Re: Circuit Studio Dead? (again!)
« Reply #100 on: July 30, 2021, 05:14:18 pm »
Before I bit for CS a few weeks ago, I asked some questions about CM Pro, Altium source will not be divulged here.  It is supposedly at level 3 Beta.

It's been at Beta 3 according to what Jim Harrington told me in mid-December.

Glad I didn't wait to pony up for AD. I am curious what CS Pro will look like however.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #101 on: July 30, 2021, 09:26:14 pm »
Usability of Kicad GUI is very questionable.

Except a lot of engineers are able to, you know, design complex boards in Kicad. The GUI could be better, it has been a lot worse, but to call it "questionable" means you haven't bothered to spend any time learning how to actually use the software.

The following users thanked this post: janoc

Online 2N3055

• Super Contributor
« Reply #102 on: July 30, 2021, 11:11:42 pm »

Except a lot of engineers are able to, you know, design complex boards in Kicad. The GUI could be better, it has been a lot worse, but to call it "questionable" means you haven't bothered to spend any time learning how to actually use the software.

You can make toothpicks with an axe.. It's just very weird and cumbersome. Same as Kicad. As I said, I'm, waiting for 6.0 to come out, that one should have many of my major complaints fixed so we will see.
I'm sure by the version 7.0 Kicad will be very serious software. At this moment it's not. Yet.
And yes, I'm old enough that I was making my films with Letraset by hand. That also could and was done. Compared to that Kicad is fantastic. Compared to most of the pro tools of today, it's not. It's great at some things and (still) completely amateur hour in some places. But as I said, it is galloping forward and it's better every day. I'm sure I'l start using in next few versions.. Maybe even v 6.