Author Topic: Circuit Studio Dead? (again!)  (Read 63646 times)

Offline Warhawk

• Frequent Contributor
    • Personal resume
Re: Circuit Studio Dead? (again!)
« Reply #150 on: January 19, 2023, 08:49:31 am »
I am still unclear whether I should get Circuit Studio. It is selling at Newark for $495. (version 1.5 I think)
I have several years experience with Protel and Altium.
Or should I go with Diptrace?

Do it, 495$ is literally nothing for a software nowadays. I've done amassing designs with it. You can also always have the door open to the full Altium if you start making more money.

I am not sure why you're replying to this question more than two years later.
Circuit Studio was promising. Now it is dead. Meanwhile, Kicad features and usability skyrocketed. There's no reason to burn money on this junk.

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
« Reply #151 on: January 19, 2023, 09:42:50 am »
KiCad still has a long way to go. At least coming from Altium, so many really basic things are missing, never mind the gazillion little things that make everyday use much easier.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #152 on: January 19, 2023, 10:11:40 am »
I am not sure why you're replying to this question more than two years later.
Circuit Studio was promising. Now it is dead. Meanwhile, Kicad features and usability skyrocketed. There's no reason to burn money on this junk.

Last I checked the Circuit Studio version they gave me way back is stil the latest version, it hasn't been touched in years. He's dead Jim.

The following users thanked this post: Warhawk

Offline Warhawk

• Frequent Contributor
    • Personal resume
« Reply #153 on: January 19, 2023, 01:20:51 pm »
KiCad still has a long way to go. At least coming from Altium, so many really basic things are missing, never mind the gazillion little things that make everyday use much easier.