Author Topic: Graphics import (vector)  (Read 239 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ubbut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: de
Graphics import (vector)
« on: July 10, 2019, 11:52:33 pm »
I have read many forum posts about this, and there is also a tutorial by Altium.
However nothing works for me.
Does anyone have a working method of importing vector graphics into Circuit Studio?

thank a lot !
 

Offline Pseudobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: us
Re: Graphics import (vector)
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2019, 04:04:39 am »
If you PM me the file I will import it and send it back as an ascii board in a few different sizes (or tell me what physical size you need)
“They Don’t Think It Be Like It Is, But It Do”
 

Offline ubbut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: de
Re: Graphics import (vector)
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2019, 04:12:05 am »
Thanks a lot for the offer. However I often need to import graphics and would like to have a working solution.

How do you do it?

what is an ascii board?

thanks
 

Offline Pseudobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: us
Re: Graphics import (vector)
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2019, 03:59:47 am »
I would import it using klipper but that is an Altium only script.
“They Don’t Think It Be Like It Is, But It Do”
 

Offline voltsandjolts

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 677
  • Country: gb
Re: Graphics import (vector)
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2019, 06:29:58 am »
You mean vector for PCB artwork right?
What format is your file?

I use DXF and font graphics in CS PCBs with no problems.
Designer has scripts for converting bitmaps to line art, but no scripting in CS I'm afraid.

 

Offline ubbut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: de
Re: Graphics import (vector)
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2019, 02:44:02 am »
Hi,

importing graphics using fonts kind of works for me, but very complex graphics are getting simplified (sometimes to the extend that it is unusable)

I tried the DXF import. Does not work for me at all. I get the message 'Done' but nothing happens.

This might be due to
- I am running Circuit Studio in Wine
- I have incompatible dxf files
- I am doing something wrong?

Also tried importing .png via the 'image' command, but nothing happens either :(

Can you send me a dxf that works for you?
 

Offline voltsandjolts

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 677
  • Country: gb
Re: Graphics import (vector)
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2019, 03:13:24 am »
I tried the DXF import. Does not work for me at all. I get the message 'Done' but nothing happens.

Ahh, yes, been there myself. That happens when the DXF importer is not actually installed, but instead of warning you CS just says 'Done'  :palm:

Try this:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/circuit-studio/create-pcb-outline-from-dxf/
 

Offline ubbut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: de
Re: Graphics import (vector)
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2019, 11:15:37 pm »
Awesome! it works !:)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf