EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

EDA => Circuit Studio => Topic started by: Simon on May 16, 2018, 08:02:13 am

Title: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: Simon on May 16, 2018, 08:02:13 am
Each time I start a new PCB layout I have to faf around editing the size or every component designator, is there a way to set a default ?
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: Jeroen3 on May 16, 2018, 08:12:36 am
On initial start of board design. Select all designators, and move them slightly.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: Simon on May 16, 2018, 08:24:08 am
Can you expand on that ?
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: Fire Doger on May 16, 2018, 08:28:59 am
In AD you can use a text in silkscreen layer in footprint lib with text .Designator or '.Designator' (you have to enable and the "special text" or something similar in layer settings, I am from phone right now)
After placement you can hide all auto generated designators and use these included in libraries.
One problem is that it doesn't support center anchor in PCB text.
The other is that I am not sure if on bottom placement it mirrors the text or only sets the layer to bot silkscreen.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: T3sl4co1l on May 16, 2018, 09:55:15 am
Also in AD there are component defaults under Preferences.  No idea if they dropped that from CS...

If nothing else, use a query IsDesignator to select them all, then assign whatever properties you like.

Tim
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: voltsandjolts on May 16, 2018, 10:04:52 am
I'm surprised to see a forum moderator posting the same question on two forums at the same time.
I thought that was bad netiquette.

https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb (https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb)
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: rachaelp on May 16, 2018, 10:21:56 am
I'm surprised to see a forum moderator posting the same question on two forums at the same time.
I thought that was bad netiquette.

https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb (https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb)

If he'd posted it in two or more sections of the EEVBlog forum that would be bad netiquette, but posting it here, the largest EE forum on the internet, where he is a moderator, and on element14 which is entirely separate and has a dedicated forum for Circuit Studio, doesn't seem like an issue to me.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: Simon on May 16, 2018, 11:04:18 am
I'm surprised to see a forum moderator posting the same question on two forums at the same time.
I thought that was bad netiquette.

https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb (https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb)

If he'd posted it in two or more sections of the EEVBlog forum that would be bad netiquette, but posting it here, the largest EE forum on the internet, where he is a moderator, and on element14 which is entirely separate and has a dedicated forum for Circuit Studio, doesn't seem like an issue to me.

I never knew we had 100% shared membership...... Element14 is the "official" place although I often get better and faster options here. I have in fact had entirely different answers from each forum and i use the term "forum" with respect to E14 very very loosely...
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: Simon on May 22, 2018, 07:51:22 am
Also in AD there are component defaults under Preferences.  No idea if they dropped that from CS...

If nothing else, use a query IsDesignator to select them all, then assign whatever properties you like.

Tim

No such option, I guess that is why the damn thing is so buggy, they took a load of stuff out and have loads of half cocked ways of doing things with what is left...
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: jmarkwolf on May 22, 2018, 03:03:52 pm
In the PcbDoc, manually select all the items of interest (ex. reference designators) with the 'Shift key" and left mouse button, then got to 'View' and 'Object Inspector'. The items you selected will appear in the drop down dialog, and give you the option of editing the parameters.

I'm hoping they add the AD "Find Similar" select option in the next release, which does a global select of any parameters you specify, then edit as above with the Object Inspector. Fast and easy.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: aandrew on May 22, 2018, 04:10:51 pm
I do not have silk layer enabled when I do layout.

When it's close to finished, I turn on the top silk, select one designator, then right-click select similar and include all designators. Then I set the height to 20mil and the width to 5mil.

I usually select all the vias as well and make sure they're tented (I un-tent specific ones I want access to).  Then I turn off all layers except for top soldermask and silk, and go around placing designators. Repeat for the bottom.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: jmarkwolf on May 22, 2018, 05:36:54 pm
I do not have silk layer enabled when I do layout.

When it's close to finished, I turn on the top silk, select one designator, then right-click select similar and include all designators. Then I set the height to 20mil and the width to 5mil.

I usually select all the vias as well and make sure they're tented (I un-tent specific ones I want access to).  Then I turn off all layers except for top soldermask and silk, and go around placing designators. Repeat for the bottom.

Precisely where are you finding this "select similar" option?

Never mind. Just realized you were referring to "manually" selecting similar items, not selecting "Find Similar". My bad.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: xjordanx on May 22, 2018, 06:16:08 pm
One option:
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: Simon on May 22, 2018, 06:43:06 pm
The other way as suggested on E14 is to place a part manually and during placement hit the TAB key and what you set will be the default on that layout. Delete the part and then import from the schematic.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: xjordanx on May 23, 2018, 01:08:46 am
I was just reminded by a colleague that the PCB filter panel can similarly do selections of text items in CS.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: OleMi on August 01, 2019, 02:44:09 pm
This way doesn't work for resizing designators  in the buggy CS. CTRL+A will not select designators. The only workaround to change the size of all designators is the following:

1. Switch on just layers with them and/or set filter to Texts
2. Move them all to be at some distance from one others (they are overlayed on the taught design)
3. Now click on them one by one holding Shift
4. Now they are all selected and you can use Inspector to change parameters.

Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: voltsandjolts on August 01, 2019, 04:16:13 pm
Ctrl-A does work for designators.

e.g. Use the PCB Filter, select  > Components > Text > Layer (if required). Click in the PCB view, press Ctrl-A.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: OleMi on August 02, 2019, 07:10:57 am
Doesn't work to me, that's why above solution.
Title: Re: position and size of PCB designators
Post by: voltsandjolts on August 02, 2019, 12:56:15 pm
What doesn't work for designators is click-drag to group select them, which is a nuisance.
Oh, and of course there is no 'find similar objects' functionality, so you can't easily select and change one size of designators. Grrr.