Author Topic: Wink goes to paid subscription only  (Read 2798 times)

Offline Bassman59Topic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Wink goes to paid subscription only
« on: May 06, 2020, 08:17:15 pm »
https://www.wink.com/help/faq/

US$4.99/month.

This is the first step towards shutting down, because how many users are going to buy into the subscription plan?

They're bricking the devices of people who don't subscribe.

Another fail in the space -- cloud access required, no direct connection from a user's smartphone to their products, and only smartphones are supported.

It's time for the whole IoT thing to be re-evaluated. About the only platform that doesn't suck is Ikea's "Tradfri," which does not require off-home access.

The following users thanked this post: I wanted a rude username

Offline kripton2035

• Super Contributor
    • kripton2035 schematics repository
Re: Wink goes to paid subscription only
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2020, 08:24:23 pm »
only editors that have a complete exclusivity on a market with almost no competition can go to a subscription plan.
Adobe, Microsoft, ...
this one has a ton of competitors. good luck !

Offline WattsThat

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2020, 08:41:50 pm »
It’s only a matter of time until the vulture lawyers show up with class action suites over denial of access and then you can really stick a fork in all the home device IOT vendors.

Seriously, who needs a web enabled refrigerator to maintain a shopping list? The combination of lazy and and stupid does not bode well for future generations.

The following users thanked this post: 2N3055, rgarito

Offline rgarito

• Regular Contributor
  • STM32, ARM, x86, FPGA, Firmware, Linux/FreeBSD
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2020, 05:50:15 pm »
Gonna be REAL interesting...