Author Topic: GIVEAWAY: Rohde & Schwarz RTB2004 Oscilloscope  (Read 70389 times)

Offline vivekmathema

Re: GIVEAWAY: Rohde & Schwarz RTB2004 Oscilloscope
« Reply #100 on: July 13, 2017, 02:21:15 am »
Dear Dave,

Hello, I am Vivek Mathema from Thailand, I have been your regular viewer in EEVBLOG. I am currently doing a research in cancer cell and I would love to study the use of per-defined electrical pulses on cancer cells.  Professionally, I am not electrical engineer and my budget is very limited but with my deep enthusiasm towards electronics I do manage to make a few electronic gadgets whenever possible.

As a student, I cannot afford to buy even an entry level oscilloscope because anything over 100 us$ is out of my reach. In desperation, I did one tried once to utilize cheap DSO138 Oscilloscope kit, but it didn’t work well and I couldn’t figure out what’s wrong. Finally, I made an Arduino-based Poor man’s oscilloscope which has very limited functionality. Basically, It’s a portable oscilloscope powered by arduino uno with a touch screen, a built-in Li-Pol cell, a Li-Pol charger circuit, a voltage booster and a voltage divider module which allows me to measure up to 25 volts of DC input as opposed to traditional 5 volt limit in most Arduinos. However, anything above 1 KHz signal it’s very difficult and virtually impossible to measure with any clarity and precision. I was planning to make a gadget (in a crude terms) which would read a sensor measurement (e.g. CO2 gas level) from a cell culture and feed-in appropriate pulse of square wave signal as output and study the effect of the Pulse on cell growth by later measuring viability. However, I am quite stuck in my project as I do not have Oscilloscope (or funding to buy one) to measure quality of my output signal so I cannot adjust my signal as well. I do plan to use amplifier ICs/circuit to amplify output pulse strength on the output once I have oscilloscope. In Thailand, we don’t even have eBAY so that I could