General > Cooking

Can I cook Mexican Chorizo in an egg steamer?

(1/2) > >>

xrunner:
I'm not good at cooking. So I have this Bella egg steamer that I use to cook scrambled eggs for breakfast, works very well, just add cheese or anything you want. The eggs go in the black cup and that goes in the steamer along with water in the bottom, then the lid goes on. The more water you pour in the bottom the longer it cooks.

I want to make eggs with Mexican chorizo which has to be cooked. I do not know if the chorizo will be cooked enough if I simply add it to the eggs and expect it to be done when the bell chimes (when the eggs are done). Can I cook the chorizo first by steam, then add the eggs and start a new cycle again at that point? How long would I steam the chorizo? Couldn't find any answers for this specific question.

I know I could cook the chorizo in a pan but I'm trying to do it all with this appliance. Any thoughts?

nightfire:
I would advocate against it. Chorizo and similar meat/sausage types need a heat of above 140 Celsius to get the maillard reaction going, gicing it the characteristical roast flavours and get the fat combined with the surroundings.
Boiling at 100 celsius will make the fat drip down and render you with dry and not nice tasting meat.
But yes, you could pre-roast the Chorizo slices in a pan/skillet, and then mix up with the rest of the eggs, as you would do it in a pan- there the chorizo is cooked first, pushed aside, and then the scrambled eggs are put in the pan and then are mixed together on lower heat.

PartialDischarge:
I don't see why it wouldn't work, wine sausages are steamed also.

--- Quote from: nightfire on February 04, 2023, 04:09:55 pm ---I would advocate against it. Chorizo and similar meat/sausage types need a heat of above 140 Celsius to get the maillard reaction going,

--- End quote ---