Author Topic: Professional chef turned EE  (Read 2619 times)

Offline hvnaTopic starter

• Contributor
Professional chef turned EE
« on: February 07, 2021, 07:31:16 pm »
Hi everyone, I'm a former professional chef (10 years in industry, classically french trained) with multiple years experience in Michelin restaurants. Last year I decided to get out and I've been in school for electrical engineering since then. I am still currently the executive chef here at a restaurant in Ireland, but due to Covid I'll be moving to a different country soon. Regardless, I'm always here for cooking questions. It isn't my passion but I do have quite a bit of knowledge. I can only hope all of you return the favor!

The following users thanked this post: thinkfat, nikodem

Offline Halcyon

• Global Moderator
Re: Professional chef turned EE
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2021, 11:44:27 pm »
Welcome! It's always interesting to see people from all different backgrounds and professions here. Everyone has a story to tell.

Will you share with us your "signature dish" (at least one we can make at home)? ;-)

Or perhaps you can tell us, how do you cook the perfect steak? I can cook all manner of things, but steak is just something I keep getting wrong.

Online themadhippy

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2021, 12:43:54 am »
, how do you cook the perfect steak
put a heavy non nonstick pan on the heat
wait
when the smoke detector goes off open window to let smoke escape,reset alarm
wait another five minutes
if pan starts glowing/melting turn down the heat a tiny bit
drop steak into pan
1 to 2 minutes later turn steak
cook for another minute or 2
serve

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2021, 12:53:40 am »
Nice to have a professional chef on board. I think I have a pretty neat way to cook steaks though. The trick is to keep the moisture in.

I use olive oil, thyme, salt, pepper and garlic powder as seasoning.