Author Topic: AKL-PT1 2 GHz passive oscilloscope probe  (Read 223 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jmw

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 124
  • Country: us
AKL-PT1 2 GHz passive oscilloscope probe
« on: May 22, 2020, 04:34:49 pm »
Plugging a campaign that I'd like to see get over the finish line:

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/azonenberg/akl-pt1-2-ghz-passive-oscilloscope-probe
10:1 transmission line probe for 50Ω systems, 500Ω input impedance

Looks like a well-designed low-Z probe for a good price compared to spending for a commercial one or a lot of time tuning your own in Sonnet.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2020, 04:37:09 pm by jmw »
 
The following users thanked this post: thm_w, salvagedcircuitry

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19404
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: AKL-PT1 2 GHz passive oscilloscope probe
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2020, 10:34:30 am »
Unfortunately 500 Ohm is too low. If you want to measure LVDS or something similar you'll be loading the signal way too much. In my experience you really want to be over 1k Ohm.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Mechatrommer

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9639
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: AKL-PT1 2 GHz passive oscilloscope probe
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2020, 10:54:37 am »
about 10 ohm loading at ~1GHz...  we are at the mercy of FR4 (or whatever substrate they are using) and a coaxial cable... :popcorn:

$150 is still an ouch for me, ymmv.
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19404
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: AKL-PT1 2 GHz passive oscilloscope probe
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2020, 02:34:26 pm »
There are better ways to spend $150  >:D
Also 10 Ohm load @ 1GHz seems like a measurement error to me. Just based on capacitance that would translate to 16pf. Also the other measurements look fishy. Just look at the bandwidth graph; the commercial 1.5GHz probe doesn't even reach 1.5GHz (-3dB). I find that odd.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 02:38:59 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf