Author Topic: Integrated Circuits on Kickstarter?  (Read 3216 times)

Offline devinatkinTopic starter

• Contributor
  • PhD Student at the University of Calgary I2Sense
Integrated Circuits on Kickstarter?
« on: April 06, 2020, 07:50:09 pm »
Hello I'm a silicon designer at the University of Calgary. I've been floating the idea of running a Kickstarter for some of our works. Well people generally seem to think of chip development as prohibitively expensive except for extremely large mass manufacture that's not true if one is willing to operate in older process nodes. Quantities are as low as ~35,000 to get the chip prices down to ~$10/chip depending on the details of the process, at engineering quantities of 40 chips it's only $100-150/chip for some processes.

I'm thinking of floating the idea with my supervisor for us to do some of this in order to promote our lab and wanted to get an idea of people's feelings towards this.
I'm leaning towards doing something like a 100% open-source design image sensor design intended for use with Arduino or very small processors. With a simple friendly readout and some moderately good specs. It would be to help get more of our research out into the real world where people could take advantage of it.

I operate in a bit of a bubble where I love the idea so I wanted to get people's reaction to the idea of supporting custom silicon sensors on Kickstarter.

Comments and critique please, tell me if it's a good idea or if my bubble needs bursting.

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Integrated Circuits on Kickstarter?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2020, 09:13:38 pm »
There are cheap image sensors out there. Being open source does not really add much. There is still no way anyone could realistically use that source. Also, I don't even think there is a free way to access final manufacturing databases. What are you going to open source? Just the digital part?