Author Topic: iPhone killer on Indiegogo  (Read 23412 times)

Offline janoc

• Super Contributor
Re: iPhone killer on Indiegogo
« Reply #25 on: November 17, 2014, 04:11:31 pm »
Well, Oculus had a prototype, these guys have nothing.

If they can show a prototype of the final or near-final product then they have, in my opinion, most of the skills necessary to bring the project forwards.

Otherwise, they're either terribly misinformed about the costs required to bring such a product to market... or they're scammers.

Sure, agreed Tom. No dispute here at all.

I only disagree with the overgeneralization by Corporate666 earlier. I think that is unwarranted.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #26 on: November 17, 2014, 11:18:38 pm »
It would be virtually impossible to design a smartphone, especially one that complicated, for less than $2 million.
My opinion.

I think that # might even be conservative. The tooling alone would blow through that amount quickly.  Let alone salaries and overhead for the two to three years it would take to get to market.

And once it's ready to go to market, they have to convince the carriers to allow the phones on their networks.

Yeah, right, like that will ever happen.

Offline Corporate666

• Supporter
  • Remember, you are unique, just like everybody else
« Reply #27 on: November 17, 2014, 11:27:36 pm »

That's why IGG and KS are complicit in this.
The only KS projects that seem to ever work out are the incredibly simple ones - and even then, they deliver very late and tend to have unhappy backers.

I think you are a bit unfair to KS at least. There have been quite a few even complex projects there that have worked out just fine, with minor delays - Oculus Rift, for example.

I don't want to look like I am defending the scammers, but how would you want to regulate something like KS or Indiegogo without killing the crowd-funding concept (which is genuinely useful)?