Author Topic: Dodgy: Megacell Charger - 16 cell 18650 tester  (Read 8739 times)

Offline fubgumfawTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Dodgy: Megacell Charger - 16 cell 18650 tester
« on: February 24, 2021, 08:02:51 pm »
I try to help where I can and I like to support promising projects.  I like it when people innovate and create new products. I've supported probably 15 projects in the past 6 years related to battery technology, motor controllers and motors. I'm an avid EV builder with an EE degree. Some of these projects work out well and others are bomb shells. The Megacell Charger/Monitor looks promising and innovative so I got on board to see for myself. Unfortunately this project is a bombshell and needs serious improvements to make it worth having! The short answer is: Do NOT get one!

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/megacellcharger-mass-production/x/25194611#/

This is the youtube channel (The Cell Doctor) for this project:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzPputw3dkkFjxaZU2nmamg/featured

I tried to buy one probably a year ago when I found a video about them on youtube. I have to honestly say that I'm glad that this didn't happen! A year ago, this project was so premature that it was mostly useless. I was able to pay for one in November 10, 2020 and it arrived January 20, 2021...almost 4 months wait!!! I used the cell tester for a little while and decided to buy another one. I have since requested a refund.

I thought I'd post my results and experiences with this cell tester after near continuous use since I got it...
1. This is an Indiegogo project. It is common that crowd funded projects are "works in progress" and what you get may be far from a complete product.

2. The Megacell Charger is definitely a "work in progress" and far from reliable and trustable.

3. The charger has 2 button on it. They are oddly placed and they are the entire input method for accessing the functions of the charger directly.