Author Topic: Ninja Socket  (Read 8637 times)

Offline Josh2205Topic starter

Ninja Socket
« on: January 14, 2016, 09:28:40 am »
Hi, I'm josh and since a young age I've been interested in taking things apart and thinking of ways that they could be improved or brought into the modern world inline with technology. The Ninja Socket is the most powerful plug socket you will find jam packed with features which would otherwise be bulky and take up valuable space and plug sockets around the home.

I'm currently studying mathematics, physics and computer science in the uk and I would appreciate your opinions and support to make my dream a reality! Feel free to share this project and comment your opinions or questions,
Josh

Indiegogo link - https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/ninja-socket

Offline Codemonkey

• Regular Contributor
Re: Ninja Socket
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2016, 09:34:10 am »
Your budget doesn't look anywhere near big enough.
No prototype hardware or software = vapourware.
You could blow your entire budget just getting it through type approval.

I'm out.

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2016, 09:44:24 am »
Thank you for your reply, what are your ideas on the project as a whole? With both software and hardware prototypes would this make you more likely to back and support this project?

I'm interested to know, thank you.

Offline Codemonkey

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2016, 10:01:46 am »
Put it this way, any product that is to be permanently wired into my house would have to have some ability to turn it off (isolate completely from the mains), and also have been fully tested to whatever standards required.

I wouldn't put any cash up front until I saw something at least working and looking like it was ready for production, so no arduino's screwed to the back of a socket plate from B&Q.

Online tom66

• Super Contributor
  • Electronics Hobbyist & FPGA/Embedded Systems EE
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2016, 11:13:01 am »