Author Topic: Soap router - HW specs too good to be true?  (Read 97558 times)

Offline saironTopic starter

• Contributor
Soap router - HW specs too good to be true?
« on: March 06, 2014, 10:20:06 am »
Hello,

In the recent days I have been in discussion with people who both created or backed a Kickstarter project known as the Soap router: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/soaprouter/soap-first-smart-router-w-touch-display-powered-by

I'm in a serious doubt about this project - as I have some experience with building embedded devices, I summarized my finding and wrote a post on reddit: http://www.reddit.com/r/kickstarter/comments/1zjhvg/warning_soap_router_a_soapy_bubble_of_scam/

Now, because my investigation does not lead any further, I'd like to ask the EEVblog community to help me and enlighten the problem a bit. I know there are many people here who have experience with hardware development and roughly know the costs. Maybe they'll prove that I was wrong, so I'll be happy to hear any ideas why this project could be real or not.

Thanks,
Jan
« Last Edit: March 06, 2014, 10:44:44 am by GeoffS »

Offline sync

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Soap router - HW specs too good to be true?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2014, 01:43:00 pm »
A firewall with tons of other services and applications. What a great idea - NOT! :palm: :--

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2014, 03:21:38 pm »
A router running Android? Ouch! Those guys don't have any idea of networking! I'd would take Soap Essentials, ditch any wireless toys, add two WAN ports and make it a nice plattform for OpenWrt.

Offline Fsck

• Super Contributor
  • sleep deprived
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2014, 06:11:00 pm »
A router running Android? Ouch! Those guys don't have any idea of networking! I'd would take Soap Essentials, ditch any wireless toys, add two WAN ports and make it a nice plattform for OpenWrt.