EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

Electronics => PCB/EDA/CAD => DIPtrace => Topic started by: TERRA Operative on October 02, 2020, 01:49:20 pm

Title: How to insert a background biptmap in Diptrace?
Post by: TERRA Operative on October 02, 2020, 01:49:20 pm
I have a Tek PCB I'm currently replicating and I'm looking for a way to insert a background bitmap so I can use it to trace out the layout of the original PCB.

Is this sort of thing possible in Diptrace?
Title: Re: How to insert a background biptmap in Diptrace?
Post by: mcinque on October 02, 2020, 02:45:13 pm
adding an image it's possible without problems using the image button (attached)

I neve tried to send it to a bottom layer to route over it

I'm not at the pc now but I'll try asap and make you know my results
Title: Re: How to insert a background biptmap in Diptrace?
Post by: MarkF on October 02, 2020, 03:13:28 pm
Simple.
Just create a black-and-white image as a bmp or png file.
Then, add the image to your top or bottom silkscreen as @mcinque pointed out.

Be aware black will represent the image and white the transparent color.

Title: Re: How to insert a background biptmap in Diptrace?
Post by: mcinque on October 02, 2020, 04:00:23 pm
Thanks MarkF  :-+
Title: Re: How to insert a background biptmap in Diptrace?
Post by: TERRA Operative on October 04, 2020, 12:29:07 am
My image isn't black and white, it's a photo of a PCB so short of redrawing the PCB and component layout, to then re-redraw the layout in Diptrace, that method unfortunately won't work.
Title: Re: How to insert a background biptmap in Diptrace?
Post by: MarkF on October 04, 2020, 04:41:31 am
Had a play around and this may give you a start (DipTrace 4.0.0.5):
Title: Re: How to insert a background biptmap in Diptrace?
Post by: TERRA Operative on October 04, 2020, 04:48:01 pm
Oh cool, I'll give it a go. :) Thanks!
Title: Re: How to insert a background biptmap in Diptrace?
Post by: novarm44 on February 13, 2021, 04:54:50 pm
In 4.1 the raster image is available again. Place picture and choose "Keep Raster" instead of vectorizing.
Raster image will be always at background layer. To temporarily hide it, you need to hide inactive assembly layer. To export it to gerber or DXF, you should vectorize it and move to necessary layer.