Author Topic: I just tried DipTrace for the first time, and I like it a lot!  (Read 17473 times)

Offline alexanderbrevigTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Musician, developer and EE hobbyist
    • alexanderbrevig.com
I've been using Altium for work, and KiCad for hobby for a couple of years now.
While I like KiCad and have made it mine in some ways - I'm a bit tired by it and its quirks.

Because of this I've been on the lookout for a new and not free package. Something stable I can live with for a few, preferably many, years.
I've tried a lot of them now (circuit studio, eagle, design spark, orcad, easyeda and a few other web based waste-of-times) and I think I've found my favorite!
So close to the Altium feeling with a fraction of the cost.  :-+

Offline MarkF

• Super Contributor
Re: I just tried DipTrace for the first time, and I like it a lot!
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2017, 04:43:14 pm »
When using the 3-D View to double check your layout, I found 3D ContentCentral a good source for those missing models in both step and wrl formats.  Sometimes the step format display better but the wrl format loads faster.  I often edit the part colors in the wrl files (like changing the lead color to gold instead of silver).  You will need to create an account to download the models but there is no cost associated with it.

For home use, don't forget to request the free non-profit license allowing for 500 pins and 2 layers.
Enjoy.

• Frequent Contributor
    • alexanderbrevig.com
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2017, 05:49:07 pm »
The good support for step is actually important to me :) yep.
Nice to see things lining up in the enclosure.

Grabcad is nice too btw. Fusion360 saves the day for the even weirder stuff :)

Must say the library they ship is HUGE! So far I also like how they organize libraries.

Place by list is awesome! And I like the way they handle repeated hierarchical schematics for copying layout.