Author Topic: $159.00 Directional Fuse Hogwash?  (Read 7966 times)

Offline SL4P

• Super Contributor
  • There's more value if you figure it out yourself!
Re: $159.00 Directional Fuse Hogwash?
« Reply #50 on: June 08, 2021, 09:12:47 am »
But those DC electrons wouldn't be pure DC. They were once AC. It would require yet more audiophoolery stuff to replace every tainted AC electron with a pure, sonically perfect DC electron.

Next thing you know, they’ll be offering non-directional diodes to unrectify the noisy DC.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2021, 10:05:48 pm by SL4P »
Don't ask a question if you aren't willing to listen to the answer.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #51 on: June 11, 2021, 07:16:34 pm »
Much more intelligent discussion on the topic of fuses, and their potential to affect the sound of an amplifier:

https://www.avforums.com/threads/audiophile-fuses.2348393/

After reading through that thread, I came to the same conclusion as poster Phildick: "What you need to consider is how the power supply in the amp works here. The incoming AC is converted to lower voltage DC and stored in large capacitors. On switch on the caps are charged up to capacity and kept topped up. It is the electric in the caps that drive the amp not the mains cable or any fuses on the AC side. So, if taking the fuse out of circuit make a difference the amp must be faulty or badly designed."

I have no idea about the "venerable Audiolab 8000A" but if it's an audiophile product, one must assume that it has a shitty power supply.

Offline MrMobodies

• Super Contributor
« Reply #52 on: June 11, 2021, 09:16:23 pm »
I'd thought it would be interesting to see if that "Positive Feedback" certificate for their Orange fuse is real:

https://positive-feedback.com/masthead/

Hopefully they'll reply back next week.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #53 on: June 11, 2021, 10:17:05 pm »