Author Topic: Amazon Prime  (Read 9690 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Amazon Prime
« Reply #50 on: November 21, 2018, 08:08:32 pm »
Just a point with prime. You can almost always find whatever you want cheaper somewhere else.

I have noticed this. I'm in the habit of doing a general web search for a product to see if it's available elsewhere for less. Usually, it is.

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor
« Reply #51 on: November 21, 2018, 08:24:33 pm »
I still order from amazon though because it comes next day...

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #52 on: November 21, 2018, 11:41:52 pm »
I love the reviews on Amazon, they're very handy. Otherwise I shop by price, if I can save $1 by waiting a week I usually will. Otherwise I can usually find what I need locally if I'm in a hurry.

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #53 on: November 22, 2018, 12:32:46 am »
I love the reviews on Amazon

You might like to install a browser extension from ReviewMeta which helps to identify fake reviews.

At one time Amazon allowed kind of paid-for reviews (where the payment was essentially the product for free) and insisted that the review noted that it was based on free kit. Easy to skip those reviews, or at least take into account the genesis, but apparently some reviewers took the piss and obfuscated the required statement in various ways so it wasn't obvious. Amazon's response was to ban solicited reviews completely.

Trouble is, now the transactions are done off-Amazon and there is no indication that a review has been bought (except that it is probably a 5-star). You have no idea which reviews are pukka and which are dodgy (sometimes all of them). That website uses analytics to try and figure it out.

The following users thanked this post: SiliconWizard

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #54 on: November 22, 2018, 04:16:52 am »