Author Topic: Cable validator  (Read 4843 times)

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Cable validator
« on: October 14, 2021, 07:08:04 pm »
So I saw this video from Linus tech tips-
https://youtu.be/u6lx1ntNoxE?t=88
I thought, cable testing just needed a continuity tester (be it modded to beep when continuity is broken) and sockets (to actually get access electrically, of the pins of the connector) as long as you have the cable, well under standard maximum supported length.
Sure, you can have fixtures for a factory environment but expensive oscilloscopes? for digital signal? simple lcr meter ain't enough?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2021, 07:14:23 pm by Raj »

Offline Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: Cable validator
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2021, 07:38:52 pm »
For really demanding cables one may actually need quite some effort to really test a cable all the way to the details. The box does not look really dodgy, though may be already at the limits with HDMI.
The video however looks a bit odd - for me the way the video is made rings some alarm bells and makes me a bit suspecious.

The following users thanked this post: Raj

Offline TimFox

• Super Contributor
  • Retired, now restoring antique test equipment
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2021, 08:26:55 pm »
I haven't viewed the video, but there are cable faults that will not be measurable with continuity or LCR meter.
The usual test equipment required for some types of faults is "TDR" for time-domain reflectometry.
For example, back in WW II, it was noticed that the manufacturing process for coaxial cable could produce a periodic deviation in the dielectric diameter along the cable length, which would result in interesting interference effects at certain frequencies where a small reflection at each cycle of the deviation could add up to serious problems for a long cable.

The following users thanked this post: Raj, MazeFrame

Offline Kleinstein

• Super Contributor