Author Topic: Dodgy USB Chargers  (Read 11537 times)

Offline wraper

• Supporter
Re: Dodgy USB Chargers
« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2018, 02:55:08 pm »
But as a member of this wonderful electronics forum you should be able to perform a proper QC ;)
The issue with chargers is that you really cannot take them apart without damage. Of course really dodgy ones easily break apart so you could use it as a first test.

Offline Raj

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2018, 03:07:40 pm »
I've even seen, some of them blowing up.
One of them even had a capacitor that was under rated (4.7v) at output.
Many of them don't fit any country's socket thus keep sparking away ruining itself overtime.

And about y caps making screens go haywire. Chinese chargers do make my moto defy's screen nonfunctional when charging. But my galaxy s4, moto z, and chinese phones still function well while charging.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2018, 03:14:55 pm by Raj »

Offline stj

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2018, 05:13:30 pm »
No surprises there! Or what do you expect from an US$ 2.50 USB charger?

that's no excuse.

The following users thanked this post: wraper

Online Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #28 on: September 22, 2018, 06:11:37 pm »
My daughter won it at a tombola at this year's summer festivities at her school. All the items given away there had been donated by parents. I remember there were many of the USB power adapters. Only recently I got it in my hands again and opened it. I guess I better phone the school on monday and warn them about the adapters...

I don't know when or if they had been actually distributed by Allianz or if they just stayed in some employee's home who eventually donated them to the tombola.

Cheers,
Thomas

Might be an idea if school kids are involved, better safe than sorry. A bit delicate for the innocent well meaning parent involved though.  :(