Author Topic: Fear of mains from 1990s  (Read 3499 times)

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Fear of mains from 1990s
« on: April 14, 2021, 11:29:10 am »
An extract from elektor issue 177 describes a circuit to protect you from electrical fields.  :-DD

Offline Cyberdragon

• Super Contributor
Re: Fear of mains from 1990s
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2021, 03:16:54 pm »
Why the hell would they publish this BS in a real tech magazine? I mean, the circuit probably does what it says but why would they touch this topic with a 10 foot pole? That only leads down rabbit holes of readers calling in and requesting all manner of bullshit electronics.

Imagine if Make or Nuts and Volts published something like this today!
*BZZZZZZAAAAAP*
Voltamort strikes again!
Explodingus - someone who frequently causes accidental explosions

Offline Twoflower

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2021, 03:20:03 pm »
Have you checked the date of that issue? It is visible on the first page  ;)

The following users thanked this post: newbrain, SiliconWizard, I wanted a rude username

Online ebastler

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2021, 03:41:57 pm »
Also note the authors - Mr. Serious and Mr. True.  ;)

The following users thanked this post: brabus, wraper, exe, newbrain, james_s

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2021, 09:47:36 pm »
It reminds me of the Tektronix A6901 Ground Isolation Monitor except that the A6901 serves a purpose in allowing an arguably safe floating ground:

https://w140.com/tekwiki/wiki/A6901

Offline TimFox

• Super Contributor
  • Retired, now restoring antique test equipment
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2021, 11:15:01 pm »