Author Topic: Laboratory Refrigerator Premature Failure - LabRepCo L2X-10-HG  (Read 2151 times)

Offline fmashockieTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I work as an in-house engineer for a biotech company.  I maintain their lab equipment.  We have a lot of lab refrigerators.  And I've never seen a fridge fail in this manner.  Over the weekend, I get an alert from our temp monitoring system that one of our fridges was reading a temp >7C (they are set at 4C).  The temp data did not appear to indicate this was a door opening, but it seemed like an equipment malfunction because the temperature was slowly increasing.  When I got in, the fridge was reading ~13C.  The compressor was on and very hot.  But neither the evaporator fan nor the condenser fan was on.  I thought that was strange.  I took a closer look at the condenser fan and saw that it was getting power (AC 120V), but the impeller was not turning - it was caught in the fan's frame.  I then looked at the evaporator fan - it too was getting power (same model fan).  I removed it from circuit and tried to power it with my variac - it was completely shot.

It looks like the evaporator fan died first, and then when the fridge couldn't reach the setpoint, the condenser fan and compressor continued to stay on for a long period of time (relatively... couldn't have been more than a few hours because the temp data captures the compressor duty cycle which is ~30 min).  The condenser fan wore itself out - the impeller shaft grinded itself down to the point that it popped out of the retaining ring and came out of the stator and got caught in the frame. 

I've never seen a fridge fail in this manner.  And it is less than a year old, still under warranty (just barely).  But I don't even want the original fans.  They seem to be of real poor quality (I will add the make/model tomorrow).