Author Topic: Need someone to tell me this idea is stupid (Co2 capture)  (Read 1445 times)

Offline adam7288Topic starter

Need someone to tell me this idea is stupid (Co2 capture)
« on: August 11, 2021, 01:24:37 am »
I am seeking out someone to crush my dreams and help avoid wasting my time.

The idea which I'd like to spend a few years prototyping essentially boils down to distilling dissolved air into its constituent components. Clearly, with the goal of isolating co2, and doing this in a manner which is more efficient than current methods available.

The idea is simple but unproven:

Stage 1: dissolve air into water or some other solvent, using a compressor (I have some practical experience with this with aquariums and aquatic plants using compressed co2).

Stage 2: Exploit Henry's Law, varying temperature and pressure in such a way that the various components of the air outgas in a predictable way. This is the part where I need you to tell me it is stupid and won't work.

The other aspect is energy - even if the idea is feasible it needs to be efficient.

I apologize for coming off as a complete amateur!

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: Need someone to tell me this idea is stupid (Co2 capture)
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2021, 02:05:16 am »
You don't even need a compressor, water dissolves CO2 pretty well at STP.  A bubbler will do, at least if you don't need much concentration.

But that really is the rub, isn't it?  If you have low concentration, then a lot of water will evaporate in the process (indeed, more than the CO2 absorbed, I think, in most places on Earth!) while recovering not very much CO2; and its purity will be low (because O2 also dissolves in water, and to a small extent, Ar and N2).