Author Topic: Perpetual motion by capillary action  (Read 3524 times)

Offline CirclotronTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Perpetual motion by capillary action
« on: November 10, 2018, 09:33:35 am »
Tell me why this won't work.

Trees manage to raise water to a great height by capillary action.
Say we had some kind of wick to raise water up to a tank, then use the potential energy of that raised water to do some work on the way back down again. What is (presumably) wrong with this situation?

Offline Raj

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Re: Perpetual motion by capillary action
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2018, 09:50:05 am »
you'll need energy to extract water out of the capillary. The Sun and the stored energy of tree itself,does that in trees.

Correct me if i'm wrong
« Last Edit: November 10, 2018, 09:52:25 am by Raj »

The following users thanked this post: rs20, ebastler

Offline ogden

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2018, 09:50:54 am »
Tell me why this won't work.

Trees manage to raise water to a great height by capillary action.
Say we had some kind of wick to raise water up to a tank, then use the potential energy of that raised water to do some work on the way back down again. What is (presumably) wrong with this situation?

Don't you know how to use internet search engines? Answer is all over the internet, including wikipedia:

it was thought that the capillary action would keep the water flowing in the tube, but since the cohesion force that draws the liquid up the tube in the first place holds the droplet from releasing into the bowl, the flow is not perpetual

The following users thanked this post: ebastler

Offline CatalinaWOW

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2018, 02:04:41 am »
Since raising water seems to fascinate you, here is a workable, psuedo-perpetual machine.