Author Topic: Dyson V15 Vacuum Cleaner  (Read 284 times)

Offline cemelec

• Contributor
Dyson V15 Vacuum Cleaner
« on: July 22, 2021, 04:46:42 pm »
I have a lot of respect for James Dyson, but one of his latest creations, the V15 Vacuum Cleaner, is pushing my credibility a bit far.

It claims to use a "Laser Technology" to detect, size and count dust particles, and display them on a mini histogram on a display mounted on the cleaner.

I'm into anything high tech, but this seems a bit of a stretch even for me.  Like most people, I like clean floors and carpets, but is this for suckers with more money than sense?

Offline Raj

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Re: Dyson V15 Vacuum Cleaner
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2021, 05:52:13 pm »
I have a lot of respect for James Dyson, but one of his latest creations, the V15 Vacuum Cleaner, is pushing my credibility a bit far.

It claims to use a "Laser Technology" to detect, size and count dust particles, and display them on a mini histogram on a display mounted on the cleaner.

I'm into anything high tech, but this seems a bit of a stretch even for me.  Like most people, I like clean floors and carpets, but is this for suckers with more money than sense?
It's true that it isn't high tech, but it's possible...
Your take is wrong too.
What it is, a laser moving from left to right (or the opposite direction) at high speed. Maybe achieved using rotating mirror or galvo, similar to how bar code readers used to project a line by using a point laser. Or maybe even a simple fixed lens to have a simple flat line projection

Why laser? cause it's a point source of light, the smaller the light source, the clearer the shadows. you can probably make the projector yourself.
OFC your floor needs to be reasonably flat for it to work :-DD