Author Topic: Eagle will be part of Fusion360  (Read 17217 times)

IanJ and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Eagle will be part of Fusion360
« Reply #100 on: February 05, 2021, 05:51:04 pm »
For the third time, I am attempting to get through an entire project in Fusion360 Electronics.

It is still crazy, but at the moment I can get though to the end at least. The first two efforts were total flameouts that could not be finished.

Check out the weird ass library system.

https://youtu.be/Cy7mnUepniY

Because I have the $300 Fusion360 license, I figured I'd try to do something simple with the Electronics/EAGLE thing, which is part of the package.

Total flameout. Trying to navigate the libraries and put parts on a schematic was way more difficult than it should be. Why oh why.

Funny, though, exporting a STEP model of a board from Kicad and importing it into F360 works well.

I mean, I absolutely see the value in having changes made to the PCB layout immediately reflected in the 3D model so the enclosure etc design can continue and be updated. The export-from-Kicad/Import-in-F360 means basically deleting the old board model in F360, importing the update, aligning it, all of that.

But damn, the Autodesk Electronics thing is a disaster.

Offline rx8pilot

• Super Contributor
  • If you want more money, be more valuable.
« Reply #101 on: February 05, 2021, 09:41:17 pm »

But damn, the Autodesk Electronics thing is a disaster.

At least recently - they are willing to admit that in a public way. The first step to solving a problem is to admit you have one.

Factory400 - the worlds smallest factory. https://www.youtube.com/c/Factory400

Offline Martin72

• Super Contributor
  • Testfield Technician
« Reply #102 on: February 05, 2021, 11:09:44 pm »
Trying to navigate the libraries and put parts on a schematic was way more difficult than it should be.

Hm ? Don´t know this problem here.