Author Topic: Antenna Question  (Read 2555 times)

Offline docmurTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Antenna Question
« on: November 15, 2015, 09:58:45 pm »
Hey Guys

So I have a new product, that will use 916 MHz RF (CC1101) and Bluetooth, due to some requirements.  I found two patch antenna's from Linx:

https://linxtechnologies.com/en/products/antennas/usp

That are exactly what I need.   So my question is, what kind of considerations do I have to make, to use two antenna on the same board and get reasonably good signal strength out of both of them?  I'm not a professional PCB designer, so I have limited hands on time with doing RF design.

Thanks
Docmur

Offline geoffp

Re: Antenna Question
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2015, 03:50:38 am »
The spec sheet say that you need a 1/4 wave counterpoise to work with the patch antenna. An ideal counterpoise for an omnidirectional radiation pattern would be a copper disc with a radius=1/4 the wavelength of the frequency. But you can compromise and use a spoke of traces (or maybe just one for a somewhat directional response).

The wavelength is calculated using the formula lamda = c/f   Where lambda is the wavelength in meters, c is the speed of light of the medium in meters/second, and f is the frequency in Hz. In free space, c = 300x10^6 m/sec. For pcb material, the speed will be reduced by a factor depending on the material and thickness.

Since you need to work on two bands, 916MHz and 2.5GHz your should have 1/4 wavelength length traces  centered on both 916MHz and 2.4Mhz bands. The 1/4 wavelength traces act as 1/4 wavelength transformers. For the design frequency each trace will transform the high impedance of it's end (which is connected to nothing) to a low impedance at it's beginning (which is connected to the 'ground' of the antenna).  You can have different counterpoise for different frequencies connected in parallel without them affecing each other too much. A discone antenna works on this principle.