Author Topic: Burn In Board design inputs  (Read 5251 times)

Offline glicosTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Burn In Board design inputs
« on: October 07, 2012, 02:44:29 am »
This is my first time designing a burn in board and need an expert advice from the community. Board will be subjected to the following:

• 1,000V reverse breakdown voltage for diode
  • @ 125 degrees Centigrade

• Is FR4 material enough for this application or have to use Polyimide material for much higher temperature range and dielectric strength?
  • What the best finish material, ENIG or HASL?

Any more inputs will be highly appreciated. Here's the initial layout:

TOP:

BOTTOM:

PERSPECTIVE:

Thanks for any input or suggestion...
« Last Edit: October 07, 2012, 02:46:51 am by glicos »

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Burn In Board design inputs
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2012, 03:09:14 am »
for a start the pcb does not tell me much about how it tests it,

but i can already tell your connector is not laid out ideally, for 1000 volts, you want a full dummy pin between voltage carrying pins, while the breakdown of dry air is about 3KV per mm, its much safer to work it out at 1KV per mm to cover humid air,  and the breakdown of fr4 (clean) is generally 10x this so if you focus mainly on airs breakdown you should be covered,

fr4 on its own can constantly handle 125C, but it will discolor quickly,

equally you may want to avoid lead free solder, and go generoulsy on flux when mounting these things, as a dry joint could give you a premeture failure at those temps,

Offline glicosTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, 05:12:56 am »
for a start the pcb does not tell me much about how it tests it,