Author Topic: Choosing hobbyist PCB software in 2023  (Read 12371 times)

Offline baylf2000Topic starter

Choosing hobbyist PCB software in 2023
« on: August 26, 2023, 10:43:30 am »
I realise this may be a contentious topic for my first post, but I'm going to give it a go anyway.

I'm a hobbyist shopping for a new Schematic/PCB package. I bought and used Eagle for many years, but after a few years away I see they are no more. I'm a little sad as I really enjoyed Eagle and used it to make many PCBs, both professionally produced and home made.

So now I'm hunting for a new product to use. A lot of videos on YouTube I've seen are now pushing Altium, but their prices are so far away from anything a hobbyist would or should spend on a piece of software that they're a non-starter. I see that CircuitMaker and CircuitStudio have been abandoned, which rules them out. It's sad to see Altium are still taking online payments for CircuitStudio too.

I had a play with KiCad and was surprised at how modern and relatively simple to use it was. I also looked at DipTrace, which seems reasonably easy to use, but the interface looks like something from the 80's, which doesn't fill me with confidence. Their pricing flexibility is great though. They seem to have really picked the right spot for hobbyists. I also like the look of their features for high speed signals, as that's something I want to get into.

So are there any serious recommendations for products for hobbyists that have good community support, good parts libraries and reasonable pricing that won't be abandoned a year after purchase?

Offline Karel

• Super Contributor
Re: Choosing hobbyist PCB software in 2023
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2023, 11:07:29 am »
KiCad

Offline voltsandjolts

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2023, 12:10:10 pm »
KiCad

Offline Doctorandus_P

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2023, 01:01:34 pm »
KiCad  :)