Author Topic: Designing circuit like code?  (Read 1842 times)

Offline ix4rTopic starter

Designing circuit like code?
« on: July 24, 2019, 04:14:21 pm »
Hi,

I've been looking around for options to design circuits like you write code, with no success so far.
Maybe I am not looking in the right place (or with the wrong keywords), so I'd thought I'd ask here if you had any pointers and even experience in doing so.

FTR I have used Eagle and KiCad so far in my designs, and I realize part of the design will require using similar tools to layout the PCB, I would like to avoid it in the early stages.
I have also played with netlist, but it's not a viable "language", I'm looking for something higher level, kind of something bridging Verilog and circuit designs.

Cheers,
Ix4r

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Designing circuit like code?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2019, 04:35:17 pm »
Hi,

I've been looking around for options to design circuits like you write code, with no success so far.
Maybe I am not looking in the right place (or with the wrong keywords), so I'd thought I'd ask here if you had any pointers and even experience in doing so.

FTR I have used Eagle and KiCad so far in my designs, and I realize part of the design will require using similar tools to layout the PCB, I would like to avoid it in the early stages.
I have also played with netlist, but it's not a viable "language", I'm looking for something higher level, kind of something bridging Verilog and circuit designs.

Skidl comes to mind. I have zero experience with it.

(NB: we did this at a previous employer. It has its good points and not-so-good points. Design entry used a custom language and back-end processing, not Python, which didn't exist then.)

Offline techman-001

• Frequent Contributor
  • !
  • Electronics technician for the last 50 years
    • Mecrisp Stellaris Unofficial UserDoc
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2019, 02:18:36 am »
Hi,

Cheers,
Ix4r