Author Topic: Looking for better EDA...  (Read 2383 times)

Offline 3dgeoTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Looking for better EDA...
« on: November 13, 2019, 06:01:28 pm »
Well, hello there,

I'm a bit in a pickle – I'm a hobbyist and was using EasyEDA, but it's not cutting it anymore plus all the bugs they refuse to acknowledge and remove makes it not a viable option anymore.

I've tried KiCad – I just can't use program that need to right click and tell it specifically in the menu to end trace, I don't know why but behavior like this just tigers me, this is the reason I didn't learned AutoCad  ;D Fan boyz – calm your titties – using shortcut to do this doesn't make it any better, it should be just simple right click or it should be ended automatically when trace gets connected to the pad...

Eagle seems to be a bit better, but it's still can't end trace with mouse right click tho it doesn't use right click for anything, I don't get this design decision... Also it seems Eagle UI is for high pixel density screens and icons are huge on my screens – I will play around more with Eagle, but I'm not feeling it :)

Circuitmaker looks cool, but even if it's probably way more mature software than EasyEDA it still kinda same thing and all public sharing stuff is a deal breaker (watched old Daves video about it so "rules" may be changed, but online EDA is not an option anymore).

I don't need much – EasyEDA is kinda sorta almost OK, but it lacks a feature to snap trace to next trace according to gap defined in design rules – I wasted days moving traces by hand (my board is relatively dense), also with more complex boards EasyEDA becomes slow and painful to work.

Downloading Altium "trail" version to try it out, but main feature I need is those dam traces to snap automatically according to design rules.

Probably I will have to redo entire board due to different IC I've most likely end up using, so this is a perfect opportunity to change EDA.