Author Topic: LTspice wont simulate a circuit with some component values  (Read 3510 times)

Online AnthocyaninaTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • The Sara
LTspice wont simulate a circuit with some component values
« on: April 11, 2021, 12:30:13 pm »
I've been using LTspice for a few months now, it's simple and easy to use, so that's really nice, but i don't understand why some component values cause the simulation to not work. for example in thie circuit, i've been changing some values of resistors just to find one where it happens, since while designing this circuit i've had to use odd resistor values for it to show something in the simulation and it's getting annoying. In this case, R4, one value that doesn't work if 5400 ohm, but 5399 does work. (this is also the reason why i have R7 and R5  as milliohm and micro-ohm, because with a wire the simulation won't work, i'll just get a line on the left. Any idea what may be happening? this is getting incredibly annoying.
Thank you!

Offline RoGeorge

• Super Contributor
Re: LTspice wont simulate a circuit with some component values
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2021, 01:01:59 pm »
Is there any error message?

Attach the .asc file of the two working/not working schematics, so others can run the simulation and try to debug it.

When the simulation end in an error, usually those are convergence problems.  SPICE simulations means matrix algebra, and sometimes trying to solve those matrix equations doesn't converge.  In SPICE there are some coefficients that fine tune the math behind matrix solving.

For a start, resets those settings to their default values (from Tools -> Control panel -> SPICE -> Reset to Default Values), and see if it starts working.  Most of the times the default values are working, sometimes they need manual adjustment.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2021, 02:02:48 pm by RoGeorge »

The following users thanked this post: Anthocyanina

Offline Jay_Diddy_B

• Super Contributor