Author Topic: MicroCap 12: Problem simulating imported PSpice model (LM3886)  (Read 1873 times)

Offline Aniol1349Topic starter

MicroCap 12: Problem simulating imported PSpice model (LM3886)
« on: January 15, 2022, 03:30:45 pm »
Hello,

I'm new to uCap12 (and simulation in general) and I'm trying to import and simulate a PSpice (.lib) model file which I downloaded directly from TI.
I have copied to .lib file to the main LIBRARY folder and then used "Add Part Wizard" tool to import the model, I selected the 6 pin op-amp model and renamed the pins as they appear in the model file (.SUBCKT lm3886 Vip Vin VDD VSS Vout MUTE)

I constructed a simple circuit and wanted to run the simulation but when I do that uCap shows me the lm3886.lib file and highlights a diode model:

".SUBCKT IDEAL_DIODE_0 A C
+PARAMS: EMCO = 0.01 BRKV = 60 IBRKV = 1M)"

I assume the lm3886 model is relying on another uCap native diode model to work, and that is missing?

Any ideas of how to get it to work would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
Re: MicroCap 12: Problem simulating imported PSpice model (LM3886)
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2022, 06:25:50 pm »
Took a look at the Spice model, and can confirm the line you quoted. The whole diode subcircuit is like so:
.SUBCKT IDEAL_DIODE_0  A C
+PARAMS: EMCO = 0.01 BRKV = 60 IBRKV = 1M)
D1 A C IDIODE
.MODEL IDIODE D(N = {EMCO} BV = {BRKV} IBV = {IBRKV})
.ENDS

Seems to me that there is a typo in the 'PARAMS' list. The final closing parenthesis looks bogus. "... IBRKV = 1M)"
Remove this parenthesis, save the model and try again.

The following users thanked this post: Question Mark

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2022, 02:20:57 pm »
Thanks SiliconWizard,

I will try that this eve and let you know if it worked,
out of curiosity - did you try running the model in uCap yourself?

Regards

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2022, 12:51:48 am »