Author Topic: Orcad Child board ?  (Read 1075 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wulfman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: us
Orcad Child board ?
« on: February 11, 2019, 09:32:44 pm »
Seems we have a lot of people using Orcad why not a Child board. I been using it since early 1980s
 
The following users thanked this post: nctnico, RomDump

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17660
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2019, 10:38:59 pm »
This has been asked many times before but somehow Dave seems to hate Orcad  >:D
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline free_electron

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7218
  • Country: us
    • SiliconValleyGarage
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2019, 05:31:37 pm »
there is no more such thing as orcad ....
Orcad was borged by Cadence and they have killed it over the years. They now spat out what is left over to some new company...
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17660
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2019, 05:58:28 pm »
Cadence still calls their package Orcad so the brand name has been retained. Also the schematics part (Orcad Capture) is still alive and kicking so Cadance definitely hasn't killed it.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline wulfman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: us
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2019, 10:00:41 pm »
OrCad Allegro then ?
I refuse to use anything else.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17660
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2019, 10:04:23 pm »
OrCad Allegro then ?
I refuse to use anything else.
Product name or software?  >:D

Anyway it is good to know there are some experts hanging around. I just finished my first PCB layout using Allegro (after having used Orcad Layout for many years).
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline xzswq21

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Country: 00
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2019, 10:38:30 pm »
Anyway it is good to know there are some experts hanging around. I just finished my first PCB layout using Allegro (after having used Orcad Layout for many years).
Did u have any experiences with Altium? I have some problem with Altium signal integrity analysis. I wanted to use PADS but I'm skeptical. can u tune the length or create footprint easily in Allegro?
❤ Bushire will be released and independent! ❤
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17660
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2019, 11:17:15 pm »
Anyway it is good to know there are some experts hanging around. I just finished my first PCB layout using Allegro (after having used Orcad Layout for many years).
Did u have any experiences with Altium? I have some problem with Altium signal integrity analysis. I wanted to use PADS but I'm skeptical. can u tune the length or create footprint easily in Allegro?
Footprint creatoin seems to be reasonable but needs some getting used to. For length tuning you'll appearantly need the professional license for Allegro. I don't have that. Unlike many other PCB design packages Allegro doesn't seem to be able to show the length of the trace on-the-fly with the basic license. Maybe I'll upgrade because it seems I have a more complicated design coming up soon.

I have used Altium in the past but I found it far from intuitive to use and couldn't get anywhere without the manual on my lap. With Allegro I got going reasonably easy after watching some video material and searching specific questions using Google. But then again I have been using PCB design software for almost 3 decades.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2019, 11:56:59 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: xzswq21

Offline hammy

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 435
  • Country: 00
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2019, 08:40:08 am »
there is no more such thing as orcad ....
Orcad was borged by Cadence and they have killed it over the years. They now spat out what is left over to some new company...

Fake News
 

Online asmi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: ca
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2019, 04:10:17 pm »
Footprint creatoin seems to be reasonable but needs some getting used to. For length tuning you'll appearantly need the professional license for Allegro. I don't have that. Unlike many other PCB design packages Allegro doesn't seem to be able to show the length of the trace on-the-fly with the basic license. Maybe I'll upgrade because it seems I have a more complicated design coming up soon.
Something doesn't add up in your story. Allegro is the name of their highest tier license, and of course it includes length matching, which is also available at Orcad Professional license level.
The license progression is as follows: Orcad PCB Editor Standard (this is the most basic version, and the one that doesn't include length matching) -> Orcad PCB Editor Professional (this is the license I use, it includes length matching) -> Allegro (this is the highest tier license).
 
The following users thanked this post: xzswq21

Offline xzswq21

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Country: 00
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2019, 04:38:40 pm »
Something doesn't add up in your story. Allegro is the name of their highest tier license, and of course it includes length matching, which is also available at Orcad Professional license level.
The license progression is as follows: Orcad PCB Editor Standard (this is the most basic version, and the one that doesn't include length matching) -> Orcad PCB Editor Professional (this is the license I use, it includes length matching) -> Allegro (this is the highest tier license).

I watched some videos about Allegro... frustrating! even for a simple task you should do a complex process! I'm not afraid of it. if Allegro is better I can tolerate its difficulties. Altuim files are not supported with other tools.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 06:39:44 pm by xzswq21 »
❤ Bushire will be released and independent! ❤
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17660
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2019, 05:50:09 pm »
Footprint creatoin seems to be reasonable but needs some getting used to. For length tuning you'll appearantly need the professional license for Allegro. I don't have that. Unlike many other PCB design packages Allegro doesn't seem to be able to show the length of the trace on-the-fly with the basic license. Maybe I'll upgrade because it seems I have a more complicated design coming up soon.
Something doesn't add up in your story. Allegro is the name of their highest tier license, and of course it includes length matching, which is also available at Orcad Professional license level.
The license progression is as follows: Orcad PCB Editor Standard (this is the most basic version, and the one that doesn't include length matching) -> Orcad PCB Editor Professional (this is the license I use, it includes length matching) -> Allegro (this is the highest tier license).
Under the hood it is the same program so I won't give it different names out of principle  >:D But I have the standard license.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline xzswq21

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Country: 00
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2019, 06:47:35 pm »
Under the hood it is the same program so I won't give it different names out of principle  >:D But I have the standard license.
wish all software were free!
in our country we can not buy any licenses so we use free versions with full feature supporting. so we can test any software  :popcorn:
❤ Bushire will be released and independent! ❤
 

Online asmi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: ca
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2019, 08:12:25 pm »
Under the hood it is the same program so I won't give it different names out of principle  >:D
That just makes it harder for others to understand what product you're referring to.
But I have the standard license.
I tried it initially (when they had a promo of $400-ish for Std level), but the absence of length matching for a total showstopper for me (this feature was the exact reason I was looking for a different eCAD in the first place!), so I've convinced the sales rep to sell me the Professional license on the same terms as their Std promo was (I'm paying for 1 year maintenance sub and getting an actual license for free). Still very happy with the purchase, and I even extended my maintenance sub for another year as I like the pace at which Cadence adds new features.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17660
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #14 on: February 14, 2019, 10:34:37 pm »
Under the hood it is the same program so I won't give it different names out of principle  >:D But I have the standard license.
wish all software were free!
in our country we can not buy any licenses so we use free versions with full feature supporting. so we can test any software  :popcorn:
I wish there was a cracked copy somewhere. Getting Orcad's licensing system installed was a nightmare and I do know my way around with Flexlm licensing tools. It turned out the drivers for the dongle are messed up in de standard installation and you need to download a patch from somewhere else to fix it.  :palm:
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline xzswq21

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Country: 00
Re: Orcad Child board ?
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2019, 10:54:39 am »
I wish there was a cracked copy somewhere. Getting Orcad's licensing system installed was a nightmare and I do know my way around with Flexlm licensing tools. It turned out the drivers for the dongle are messed up in de standard installation and you need to download a patch from somewhere else to fix it.  :palm:
I sent u a private message.  :popcorn:
❤ Bushire will be released and independent! ❤
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf