Author Topic: Scale Fields in Schematic Title Blocks  (Read 2842 times)

Offline NF6XTopic starter

• Supporter
    • Mark's Green Pages
Scale Fields in Schematic Title Blocks
« on: September 06, 2023, 05:27:28 pm »
I am designing the title block templates for my drawings in Altium, though this post is not specific to Altium. I'm bringing up a new Altium-based flow at my new $DayJob, and trying to establish good drawing conventions for our PCB designs. I'm an Altium noob; I've previously used KiCad and PADS.

Default schematic title blocks in various PCB layout tools commonly include a "Scale" field. The convention of specifying drawing scale makes sense to me for drawings of physical objects, but does it serve any useful purpose in electronic schematic diagrams for PCBs?

I suppose I might include a scale field in my schematic diagrams just for consistency with title blocks in assembly drawings, etc. where physical scale is meaningful. The title blocks for various kinds of drawings in Altium are defined in different files, and they don't follow a consistent design in the example templates which come with AD23.

It appears to me that I'll need to replicate the same title block many times for different sheet sizes, and for different drawing types, including editing them in at least two different tools. I'd like to get it all over with once before I start cranking out PCBs in Altium. My coworkers who will also design PCBs don't follow consistent drawing conventions, either from inexperience or just not caring. I'm trying to set a good example, and hopefully convince coworkers to use the templates I define.