Author Topic: Schematic Capture and Circuit Simulation  (Read 2493 times)

Offline RogerAFTopic starter

Schematic Capture and Circuit Simulation
« on: February 10, 2019, 04:37:03 pm »
Aloha and greetings from Florida. I was an active tech/engineer in Honolulu from 1985 through 2006. Mostly servicing sound systems and recording studios. Almost all analog machines except for control systems. Made many mods for many people and tried to keep records of all designs. I tried Electronics Workbench, but quickly moved to CircuitMaker / TraxMaker. I used that from the late 80s and updated to new versions as they were released. I did not get to CircuitMaker 2000 because most of my big studio clients went out of business in the mid 90s as home computers made home recording possible--from Windows-95 and whatever Mac was doing. So by the late 90s I was scrambling for any work I could get. So I stuck with CM98 for the next 20 years.

Long story short--I turned 60, had some health issues, and had to retire in 2012. My old P3 computer went into storage and I was computer-less until 2016. I have a decent laptop running Windows-10 and I'm now trying to get back to some of my own EE designs. I have no budget, so I'm limited to freebies for now. I tried the new CircuitMaker, but it kinda sucks. I was able to get hold of a bootleg CM-2000 and I've been using that, but it is now almost a 20 year old program. I'm looking for something modern.

My primary consideration is schematic layout and circuit simulation. Many of my designs are analog with digital control. I tried LT Spice, but was not happy with the way the schematic layout would put arbitrary angles in the wires between components. I have done schematics that have taken several sheets of 11" x 17" pages to print, and the value of straight lines when looking at such a large design is beyond compare IMHO. (The lack of straight lines was also why I abandoned Electronics Workbench.)