Author Topic: Standard component layouts?  (Read 3472 times)

Offline ssashtonTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Standard component layouts?
« on: November 03, 2021, 11:36:58 am »
Hi All,

I'm self-taught in EE, but at this point I've done a good handful of my own PCB layouts. I usually find the hardest part of PCB layout is the initial placement of components because nothing has been routed yet, but it affects everything down the line.

So I want to ask - are there standard good and space efficient layouts for common component blocks such as an LM317 and associated parts or dual op-amp ICs in inverting, non-inverting and differential arrangements, etc??

Although the best layout will be influenced by the design envelope as well as package types, it seems to me it would be handy to have a list of good common layouts.

Offline Feynman

• Regular Contributor
Re: Standard component layouts?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2021, 06:59:00 pm »
I'm not aware of any standard component placements.  Requirements are simply to different, I guess (packages, components sizes, stack-up/layer-change requirements). Most people/companies will have their own standards for regular reuse, of course.

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2021, 12:12:33 am »
Well, absolutely no one cares about relationships between components -- say for purposes of PCB fabrication, assembly or inspection.  The only thing that matters, is much less specific: reserve space (courtyard) between components to permit access for rework/repair purposes.  So, enough space to see the component and its solder joints (optical inspection), access it with tools (soldering iron, twezers, hot air, etc.), and that's about it.