Author Topic: Total noob to simulation (KiCAD/ngspice)  (Read 1743 times)

Offline BentaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Total noob to simulation (KiCAD/ngspice)
« on: March 15, 2022, 09:08:56 pm »
As the title says.

[I'm not certain that this is the right section. @moderator: feel free to move it to "Beginners".]

I'm running KiCAD 6.0 with ngspice 31 installed. OS: Lubuntu 20.04 LTS.

My circuit is not complex, but difficult to analyze, which is why I want to run a simulation. And I'm a virgin here.

I've drawn the circuit in KiCAD as usual with no problems.
After that, I replaced the passives (R and C) with parts from the 'pspice" library in KiCAD. The diodes I edited to have the spice type "Diode".
For the Zeners, DIAC and TRIAC I uploaded the relevant libraries from the manufacturers.
Last, I added a spice VSOURCE.
And now I don't know how to move on. Trying a simulation just brings cryptic error messages.
It seems I'm overlooking something obvious, but the web tutorials are very little help.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance.

Offline twospoons

• Regular Contributor
Re: Total noob to simulation (KiCAD/ngspice)
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2022, 10:00:17 pm »
Please post the error messages.

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2022, 09:19:03 pm »
It's a bit difficult, as they change all the time :(
(dkdzvtf24b is the model of the 24 V Zeners).
Here's the latest:

Offline twospoons

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2022, 04:11:25 am »
It looks like ngspice doesn't understand the new models you've added. There are different model complexity levels in use in the SPICE world, I don't know which ngspice is compatible with, sorry.
If you can find some generic models in Kicad for the parts giving you trouble and compare to the manufacturers models, its sometimes possible to work out where the incompatibilities are.   I've had to do this myself on occaision.