Author Topic: Via and ground plane question  (Read 2154 times)

Online hozoneTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Via and ground plane question
« on: December 05, 2022, 03:13:21 pm »
Hello,

I'm an amateur PCB designer.
I usually design 2 layer PCB.
Almost always I build boards with two plane, one ground and one power.
Sometimes I use VIAs to connect GND and PWR, but most of the time ground and power lines are directly routed to the pins that needs GND and VCC.
I'm lately watching pro PCBs, I've found that GND and PWR vias are heavy used, expecially GND.
I'm wondering if a better design would be to use GND and PWR VIAs "ALMOST ALWAYS".

Thanks for any of your tips!

Online Doctorandus_P

• Super Contributor
Re: Via and ground plane question
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2022, 08:02:33 pm »
A good ground plane is a very important part of a PCB. One of the guys at altium has made a 2 hour (and some minutes) video about it, and if you're into improving your PCB design skills it really is worth watching.

For a two layer PCB, usually all smt stuff is on the top, and this means the GND plane has to be on the bottom to be able to keep it continuous. As a result everything is connected with via's to the GND plane.

Normally a lot of decoupling capacitors are spread around the PCB. The result of this is that the power supply only has to deliver a DC current and the AC ripple current at higher frequencies is quite low. This also means that the power supply just has to be able to deliver this current. Fairly wide tracks to lower the resistance are usually used, but the power supply itself does not really need a plane.

But this is just a few rules of thumb and a gross simplification. That 2 hour video from altium is from a man with a grey beard who knows his stuff. Robert Feranec also has quite a lot of videos about PCB design

Offline bpiphany

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2022, 05:57:31 am »
Here's a Feranec video about power planes or no.