Electronics > PCB/EDA/CAD

What is your preferred method of documenting cable assemblies?

(1/3) > >>

Hans Mortensen:
Hello all, I'm looking for some advice regarding documentation of cables. I am a mechanical engineer who makes electrical enclosures for a small electrical engineering company. As part of my job, I quite frequently need to make cables and routing diagrams. The problem I am facing is the labor-intensive nature of creating cable documentation. It just seems to take forever! Part of the problem is that each section of the process is created on a different platform, I use KiCad for system schematics, SolidWorks or AutoCAD LT for routing and Excel for cable assembly information. I feel that this is definitely slowing my work and causing errors and contradictions, not to mention the problem of keeping track of revisions (If I do so at all). I just feel there must be a better way that will make my work more productive and of higher quality.

I made a chart today to show why I want the three types of documentation due to their unique attributes and how they relate to one another. Is there something that can unify these together in to a single ecosystem, like how PCB's documentation is managed? Or is there something bigger here that I am missing?

Stray Electron: