Author Topic: Which CAD/EDA tool to "invest" on ?  (Read 8019 times)

Offline IamSynthetiCTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • White Smoke Activist
Which CAD/EDA tool to "invest" on ?
« on: October 18, 2020, 11:32:38 pm »
Greetings everyone,
I am a student of Electrical Engineering & Computer Engineering, and i have been a fan of the subject for some time, designing and building my own things. I mainly use EasyEDA, as it is free, easy to use and learn. But now, as my projects grow more complex, and my needs are more demanding, EasyEDA fails me all the time.

So, I decided it is time to "invest" (time) on a proper CAD/EDA tool that would be widely used and recognised. I Started from the top, I found a Cracked versions of Altium (cant spend 3000 on software), and got thrusted into a huge complicated mess that i understood nothing about.

I am looking mainly for a tool that allows me to draw a shematic, simulate it, and ofcourse to work a PCB. But I am lost in a wirldwind of pompous marketing and outdated info, so i decided to come to the experts.

What do you think ? Is there an All-In-One solution (OrCAD,Allegro ???), What software should someone learn today, and ofcourse, what software do you use ?

Thanks in advance.

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Which CAD/EDA tool to "invest" on ?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2020, 09:05:29 am »
Altium is pretty standard in small companies where Orcad / Allegro is standard in larger companies. Eagle seems to be pretty dead after it was taken over and turned into a subscribtion model together with the rise of Kicad.

If you download the schematics and boards files for evaluation kits for higher end parts you'll see the files are often made using Orcad / Allegro because it performs better for large designs. I can use my nearly 10 year old core-i3 laptop for complex 10 layers boards without any problem.