Author Topic: Arduino with a relay and two obstacle sensors.  (Read 2345 times)

Offline geobeeTopic starter

• Contributor
Arduino with a relay and two obstacle sensors.
« on: July 04, 2021, 10:41:54 pm »
Hi all, trying to get my head around this. I need to trigger a relay from Arduino, from two IR sensors so that the first trigger latches the relay, then the second trigger from the other sensor, unlatches the relay. In other words, a toggle function. I have searched the web, and there are plenty of ''momentary'' relay drivers, but cannot find what suits. I am a total noob to Arduino coding. I can do simple sketch mods, but am still learning at a very low pace. Am into model trains, and have quite a few Arduino items that I would like to get going. Any help or sketch ideas would be a great help.

Offline themadhippy

• Super Contributor
Re: Arduino with a relay and two obstacle sensors.
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2021, 11:18:52 pm »
I'd use something like

assign  a variable,
if   first trigger is high make  the variable  =1
if  second trigger from the other sensor is high  make  the variable 0
else variable = variable
set the output pin to the value of the variable

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2021, 11:57:10 pm »
If the sensors have a simple logic or dry contact output, and *ALL* you need to do is latch/unlatch the relay, you don't even need an Arduino.  Its a job for a SR flipflop which can be implemented with a single CMOS 4000 series logic IC + a driver transistor for the relay, or even by the BJT incarnation of the classic Eccles Jordan Bistable circuit, probably with an extra transistor to get strong relay drive.  See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flip-flop_(electronics)

However if you *MUST* do it in code, it will probably look something like this:
Code: [Select]
void loop(){
   while(!digitalRead(SENSOR1)){}; // wait for sensor 1 to activate
   digitalWrite(RELAY, ON);