Author Topic: ATXMega32A4 as Arduino?  (Read 5440 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline panoss

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 315
  • Country: gr
ATXMega32A4 as Arduino?
« on: February 01, 2019, 05:52:10 pm »
I have a few ATXMega32A4 chips.
Can I use them as Arduinos?
Are they compatible?
 

Offline mvs

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: de
Re: ATXMega32A4 as Arduino?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2019, 10:59:29 am »
I have a few ATXMega32A4 chips.
Can I use them as Arduinos?
Are they compatible?
ATXMega MCUs are not supported. But Arduino code is open source, so you can add support by yourself.
Look at XMega For Arduino project on github.
 
The following users thanked this post: panoss

Offline Doctorandus_P

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2382
  • Country: nl
Re: ATXMega32A4 as Arduino?
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2019, 11:14:40 am »
Why would you bother?

The BluePills are at least twice as fast and the populated boards cost around EUR 1.50.
https://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?SearchText=stm32f103c8t6

The processor itself is a bit old fashioned and has some quirks, but because it is already supported by arduino, so you do not have to worry about it.
More info on:
https://www.stm32duino.com/

And while you are upgrading, give Platrofmio a try. It is a huge improvement over the arduino ide.

I've used AVR's for hobby projects since almost the beginning (way before arduino existed), and it was a very nice processor for it's time.
Recently I wanted some more and did some research, and it is not even a contest. Just toss those Xmega's in the bin and use one (or several) of the many ARM processors. The Xmega's are trying to squeeze in a to small niche to be taken as a serious product.

On itself they are capable processors, no doubt here, but that's not the point i'm trying to get trhoug.
You will very likely get some responses under here from people who have used and like these processors.
It's human nature & basic psychology. We defend what we know and are used to.
 
The following users thanked this post: panoss

Offline NivagSwerdna

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2378
  • Country: gb
Re: ATXMega32A4 as Arduino?
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2019, 11:29:10 am »
 https://playground.arduino.cc/Main/ArduinoOnOtherAtmelChips

You could probably save yourself some grief by programming them direct in AVR Studio or whatever it is called.
 
The following users thanked this post: panoss

Offline maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1962
  • Country: us
Re: ATXMega32A4 as Arduino?
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2019, 04:10:34 am »
Why would you bother?

The BluePills are at least twice as fast and the populated boards cost around EUR 1.50.
https://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?SearchText=stm32f103c8t6

The processor itself is a bit old fashioned and has some quirks, but because it is already supported by arduino, so you do not have to worry about it.
More info on:
https://www.stm32duino.com/

And while you are upgrading, give Platrofmio a try. It is a huge improvement over the arduino ide.

I've used AVR's for hobby projects since almost the beginning (way before arduino existed), and it was a very nice processor for it's time.
Recently I wanted some more and did some research, and it is not even a contest. Just toss those Xmega's in the bin and use one (or several) of the many ARM processors. The Xmega's are trying to squeeze in a to small niche to be taken as a serious product.

On itself they are capable processors, no doubt here, but that's not the point i'm trying to get trhoug.
You will very likely get some responses under here from people who have used and like these processors.
It's human nature & basic psychology. We defend what we know and are used to.

So you think he should toss in the trash what he has and just buy something else? That's pretty poor advice.

https://playground.arduino.cc/Main/ArduinoOnOtherAtmelChips

You could probably save yourself some grief by programming them direct in AVR Studio or whatever it is called.


I'd agree with this, just use atmel studio. It's really easy to use. Head to avrfreaks.net for help. The XMega MCU's never really caught on it seems but they had some really cool and interesting features.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf

 



Advertise on the EEVblog Forum