Author Topic: Newbie needs help connecting a Bus Pirate to router UART  (Read 2289 times)

Offline HogwildTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Newbie needs help connecting a Bus Pirate to router UART
« on: October 05, 2022, 10:26:43 pm »
Hi everyone:

Extreme newbie here. I have very little understanding of electronics, but much more computer experience.

I'd like to connect my Bus Pirate v3.6a to a no-name router I've got here. There are four pins that appear to be a UART interface. The pins measure as follows using my DMM:

0V, 5.01V, 1.8V, GND

Now, as a beginner, I probably should've got something simpler, but I already bought the Bus Pirate for its flexibility. The BP documentation lists pinouts of 3.3V and 5V on the Bus Pirate. However, as I understand it, the voltage is contniuously variable. Obviously, I don't want to fry the router, so I thought I'd start by connecting to the router @ 1.8V. How does one do that on the BP? Do you use the 3.3V pin and then adjust it in software?

And which pins and I connecting to which? Gnd is obvious, but what about the other two? The voltages don't seem to fluctuate on either, so how do I know which one is Tx and which one is Rx?

« Last Edit: October 05, 2022, 10:42:11 pm by Hogwild »

Offline tunk

• Frequent Contributor

• Regular Contributor
Re: Newbie needs help connecting a Bus Pirate to router UART
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2022, 11:23:18 pm »
Mm...that's more confusing, really. Lots of theory and info. but more intended for people with experience.

Offline ledtester

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2022, 11:31:43 pm »
Some ideas:

1. Trace where the potential TX/RX pins go back to the main processor chip and look up their function in the processor's datasheet.

2. It is likely the device emits serial traffic when it powers up. You can probe a potential TX pin with a scope or logic analyzer when it boots to see if there is an identifiable signal.