Author Topic: 1Gb Ethernet core  (Read 6708 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
1Gb Ethernet core
« on: August 19, 2021, 09:01:49 pm »
Hi,
Till now, I have done my Ethernet Projects using w5300 and a simple state machine in HDL to control it and I have used TCP/IP mode and C# or Qt for the PC side to communicate with my boards.

Now I need to switch to 1Gb Ethernet, and since I should route the PCB myself too, I want something easier to route, so RGMII interface is the easiest PHY interface I think, I want to know if we have any opensource cores out there, supporting UPD or TCP, also what PHY chip does it support?
Any Hints on your last experiences would highly help me to achieve the goal easier.
which Open source 1Gb Ethernet core do you suggest?

Thanks

ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline Morgan127

• Contributor
Re: 1Gb Ethernet core
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2021, 04:49:50 am »
FPGA-Cores.com has support for gigabit Ethernet, UDP and TCP.
It is not open source however it is free to download and use for non commercial use.
I did a board with KSZ9031RNX and it works great.
You can find the cores here:
https://www.fpga-cores.com/cores/

The following users thanked this post: ali_asadzadeh

Offline dolbeau

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2021, 06:33:59 am »
LiteEth (from Litex) has support for GbE including GMII and RGMII (but not yet SGMII, I think).

For external *GMII transceivers you can look at the Litex-supported boards, they will tell you what is 'known to work' (e.g. my board has a RTL8211EG).

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2021, 08:07:22 am »
Thanks for the links :clap:

Morgan127 how can I download and evaluate the cores? I do not see any download button.

http://www.fpga-cores.com/cores/fc1004_rgmii/
« Last Edit: August 20, 2021, 08:10:25 am by ali_asadzadeh »

• Super Contributor